Yio Remote Community

Adding unified logging

@marton:

I started to add “unified logging” to the Logger class in my dev branch :

• I installed a logger function messageOutput which collects all qDebug etc and QML Logger.write output to a central point (also for the integrations).
  • logLevel decides, which message will be logged
  • messages go to the QtCreator debug output if debug is set
  • messages are written to a file if a log file is specified
  • i added writeDebug, writeInfo, and writeWarning for use in QML
  • the parameters logLevel, debug and log file are specified in the Logger constructor (still compatible with current version).
  • Logger should be created in the very beginning of main.cpp
  • Logger categories are shown in the log, filtering can be added later.

That’s great @ChristianRiedl!

Would you be able to create a pull request for this to the dev branch? So we all could try it out.

Hm, I have now several commits in my branch. I am not experiencedwith git cherry picking to pull only a part of the changes. How to continue ? I think in future it is better to create a branch for every feature. But when I work on several features, how to switch between the branches ? I think I need some git training. In the past I use git only as private store, not for working in teams. Sorry

No problem. Will fix this pull request.

Creating a feature branch is the way to go. If you don’t want to deal with the command line, there’s a github desktop app, that makes it easy to switch between branches.

@ChristianRiedl I’ve merged the pull request manually. Thanks for the great work. The logger is a blast!