Yio Remote Community

Implement Network Scan / direct HW control

Would love to see a Feature like:
1- Scan your local Network during first Setup and Check ability to Control found Devices
2- Control devices (e.g. Sonos) direclty via Remote
3- Backchannel to used Backend (Homey, HA, …) to provide control possibilitys

When this is used, the Remote itself doesn’t need a Backend to be used, but can be implemented.

1 Like

Hi there @Carp3-noctem,

I will do my best to not have stupid questions/answers in this response. :sweat_smile:
Yio Remote is developed as add-on to a Home Automation software like HA, Domoticz, OpenHAB etc. It’s not really a stand-alone kind of remote as of yet. Thus making this request a bit obsolete in my opinion. The Home Automation software should have discovered all of your devices already or at least the devices you wish to control.

But please correct me if I am wrong. I am quite new to this Home Automation world. Started like 2-3 weeks ago :sweat_smile:

1. So with the above in mind, would you think it’s still necessary for Yio Remote to scan the local network for devices and and maybe further explain why? Could be that I am missing something important here.

2. Same as my response to request 1.

3. Sorry, I did not quite understand what you ask here. Could you please clarify it for me?

Thank you for your time and patience :smiley:

Not OP but I think @Tosko’s response looks correct. I believe 3 is essentially requesting it to support being a standalone remote (or mix of standalone and not).

That idea was discussed pretty heavily in the original Home Assistant thread and on Discord. Last I knew, the idea was to not support a standalone mode as it would increase the cost and complexity and there are already existing solutions for most of the features that could possibly be done locally (e.g. IR blaster connect to Home Assistant).