Yio Remote Community

Kickstarter stretchgoals unfair?

First of all, i have funded the project and this is my first time using Kickstarter.
Yesterday i joined the livestream.

But -maybe my own mistake- i read Open API and was looking at github and noticed all repo’s. So i was assuming it was completely open source. Maybe not open-hardware but open enough to modify things in the future. But yesterday they told us that is not really the case.

They are thinking about a stetch goal to make this happen.
I find this rather strange. You start a project and you calculate the money you need to make it happen. They already reached this by 300% (300000)

Now they can just make up any number to reach this goal (say about 400.000). This is not based on anything but just to make more money.

I appreciate the work of the guys to created this project. It takes a lot of work. I do not mind if they are making money of it.
But afterwards settings a new target feels a bit cheap. I am thinking about unfunding the project. Certainly if it will not reach this target.

You can’t unfund, once committed you are in.

No experience with Kickstarter. So i am not sure when the “you are in” part is. I understand you can not quit when the project is really started. But on Safabaton i see reactions like “canceled their pledge”. Probably also the last time i fund any project :slight_smile:

…but strechgoals after starting a project. They feel to me like: “sign this white paper please, we will add the price and the rules later”

I’m sorry that it was not clear that we’re starting from scratch with this new version. We have completely redesigned the whole software and with the open API, you could already do a lot of customisation.

We came up with this idea to set a stretch goal that is very close to the current state, so it’s likely that we reach it and we open-source the two apps we mentioned. We would like to do it, so it’s more symbolic that we announced it as a stretch goal.