Yio Remote Community

NEEO switcher ready to contribute

Hi, my name is Markus and I am one of those disgruntled NEEO backers. Now I’m enthusiastic about YIO.

I’m still using my two NEEO remotes almost daily and have automated pretty much everything in my flat and home theater setup. But since it all came to a harsh end 8 months ago, I haven’t visited NEEO’s forum nor continued my own driver development (myStrom WiFi switch driver and other unpublished stuff). Mentally I already prepared myself to switch back to Logitech Harmony…
What a mistake! I just discovered @Nklerk brain hacking and even more importantly this truly AWESOME project.
YIO is exactly what I am looking for!!! Thanks a lot @marton for your tremendous efforts, the professional look of your project and the upcoming diy kit. So exciting :grin:

I am ready to jump in and contribute!

Who am I and what can I offer?
I’m a software engineer living in Bern, Switzerland. Besides mountain biking, I like to tinker with electronics, Arduinos and lately ESP32 in my spare time. Even though my apprenticeship was in electronic engineering almost 25 years ago I’m no hardware guy at all. My passion is designing and writing quality software :smiley:

I need some time to wrap my head around C++ & Qt again. My last professional Qt project was over 10 years ago… Whenever possible I stick with Java, which might come handy if I see a need writing a custom openHAB integration driver. My specialty is system integration, backend services, service communication and in the past low-level industrial device integration. So don’t expect fancy GUIs from me :wink:

After quickly glancing over the GitHub sources I see the following possible contributions:

• Fix initial WiFi setup: doesn’t work with SSIDs containing spaces. I already found what’s wrong and will create a fix & PR in the next few days.