Yio Remote Community

Plex Integration

Disclaimer: I’m not a programmer! :slight_smile: My experience is limited to playing around with arduino stuff.

So I spent this weekend installing and getting to grips with Qt Creator. It seems pretty straightforward and I’ve got it compiling on my Ubuntu VM. I had a hell of a job trying to get local cross-compiling working, mainly due to incompatible libraries and no Pi Zero to easily pull from. I have ordered a Pi Zero to assist which should arrive later in the week.

Anyway… I butchered Marton’s Spotify one and got it working.

I had to make some changes to the mediaplayer component too, the most critical was setting up the SPEAKER_CONTROL page. I created a CardSpeakerControl.qml. I just used the AlbumModel to store the data and it seems to work nicely (I would propose creating a SpeakerModel in the future to hold more information including supported features). I changed the title from Speakers to Players as it seems more generic and makes more sense for Plex and any other video based systems?

I added some additional context items as well - SHUFFLE, QUEUE and CONNECT (for the speakers). In the mediaplayer code I added the following complementary commands as well: ADD_TO_QUEUE, SHUFFLE, CHANGE_SPEAKER, GET_SPEAKERS.

I don’t think anything is too controversial there as I just extended what was there previously and it shouldn’t break anything as they are optional controls?

Perhaps more controversially I extended the type definition to include Movies, Shows and Episodes as these are need for Video based media players. I would propose that the search page is refined to only show the types that are returned . This means that audio integrations will never show Movies, etc.